There are 3 types of user roles in Boomr: 1) Admin, 2) Manager and 3) Employee
In this article, we'll highlight the differences between each of these roles and outline how access to the product changes depending on the role that is assigned.
The person who created your Boomr account is by default an Admin user and cannot be changed to another role type. Any other user can also be made an Admin and doing so will give them access to all of the data Boomr collects for your organization. Admins can view all users associated with the company's account, regardless of role. Admins can also make any other user an Admin.
Being an Admin means that all shift data for your company is viewable in your dashboard. You will see shifts for every single Employee, Manager and Admin in the organization and have the full authority to review, approve and run reports for those shifts.
Because Admins have access to all of the shift data for the company, the person who is responsible for running payroll or billing reports for your company should be assigned the Admin role. Admins also are the only users that can configure and manage an Integration.
Here is a breakdown of the features that are only available to Admins:
- Setting up and managing an Integration
- Setting up Departments for the company's account
- Managing the company's subscription to Boomr on the Billing page
- Managing the company's General Preferences, Shift Preferences and App Preferences
- Making assignments between Employees and Managers
- Having access to shift data for all users, and therefore running complete reports for Payroll and Billing
Managers have many of the same privileges as Admins. They can review and approve shifts, they can also add new users to the company account. Unlike Admins, Managers are not able to see all users in the organization, a Manager only has access to the Employees that are assigned to him/her.
You can assign an Employee to a Manager when you first add the Employee to Boomr. Just click the dropdown menu next to Role and select the appropriate Manager's name from the list.
You can also change an Employee's Manager or assign multiple Managers to an Employee by opening that Employee's profile. From here, click on the "Managers" tab and select the Managers you would like to assign. By default, all Admin users are automatically assigned to all Employees and this cannot be changed.
Here is a breakdown of the features that are only available to Managers:
- Reviewing and approving the shifts of employees that are assigned to them
- Running limited payroll and billing reports, these reports will show shift data for employees that have been assigned to them
- Adding new users and assigning them the role of Employee or Manager
- Adding new projects and assigning employees to work on those projects (Business Tier)
All employees have the ability to track time and manage their own shift data directly from the mobile app or from the web based dashboard. Employees are not able to review or approve other Employee's shifts, nor can they run payroll or billing reports.
An Employee's access is essentially limited to his/her own work. That being said, an Employee can also created new work locations and projects for other Employees to check in to or work on. Employees can run Timesheet reports any time to view their hours worked and can see which shifts have been approved and which are pending management approval.